Urban division – A study

H.P 1
Water colour study H.P 1 2013
H.P-2
Water Colour study H.P  2013

Many years ago I became fascinated by the way the human mind imposes itself on geography how the mind creates landscapes ideas of what here is,  where we are in the landscape.

I completed a few paintings on the subject, at the time I was just starting out in Graphic design still finding my feet.  One of my teachers at the time was Michael Cusack  http://michaelcusack.net.au

I showed him my art and he offered me some guidance and direction and I wish I actually listened to him. He even kindly gave me the boards to paint these pictures on, that was 10 years ago. phew!

Highmore : Oil on Canvas 2004
Highmore : Oil on Canvas 2004
Coushatta : Oil on Canvas 2004
Coushatta : Oil on Canvas 2004
Be quick -2002
Be quick -2002

I started as sort of an abstract cubist, splicing up existence making commentary about the world around us. I was angry an angry young man. Now after all those years many things have changed, I feel a distinct change in my style. I am in a better and relaxed place to look at the world. I still love to paint in the cubist style but I am not as angry and my images are starting to look different because of this.

Leave a Reply

