My Wife’s Bitter

702038_0_9999_v1_m56577569845803185

The thing that attracted me to this beer, was the label design. I just love it, it reminds me of a sailors tattoo, and it goes well with the name of the beer.

I have mixed feelings about the name, this is how the website put it:

“My Wife’s Bitter? Yes, we’re talking about Peta, Brewmaster Brennan’s wife. And we don’t mean she’s in any way sour, resentful or angry. This beer is Brennan’s gift to her!”

When I showed my wife this beer, she was horrified and we both began to ask questions about the marketing of the Burleigh brewery.

Is because they are from Queensland? Are they actually that witty? Or are they just bogans with a great marketing team? Not sure but the beer itself is certainly worth a review.

This beer has a Newcastle Brown Ale feel to it. It is based on a traditional English bitter but it is a little special in it’s own way. It has something a little spicy a little more enticing, it still has that dullness of an ale while remaining bitter enough to expose the hops. I am not one for the darker ale but I found myself being drawn into the heavier flavours.

The beer doesn’t feel in anyway Queensland in style. Using Queensland’s favorite beer as an example, XXXX bitter is full of bubbles which is super light and has no flavour. XXXX is designed to be thrown down after a hard days work in the stinking Queensland sun.

It probably doesn’t matter so much these days with so many craft breweries popping up all over the place, but it is interesting to note that a heavy cold weather brown ale is coming from Queensland.

My Wifes Bitter

Leave a Reply

